Board members in the Victoria I.S.D. review two proposals

The Bond Planning Task Force provided updates on their work

VICTORIA, Texas – The Victoria Independent School District (VISD) held a specially called board meeting Tuesday night where they covered what the district accomplished over the summer. There was also a presentation by the Victoria I.S.D. and its program called ‘Rising’ which focuses on student success. Much of the evening focused on an update from the Bond Planning Task Force.

The Bond Planning Task Force was formed in order to address the needs of V.I.S.D. schools, students, and staff. The task force is made up of 32 community members and they’ve met multiple times over the summer to figure out exactly what the V.I.S.D. needs.

After two previous bond attempts have failed in the past, the Bond Planning Task Force is taking a different approach with this bond, this time coming with two potential proposals.

Former Victoria Council member and V.I.S.D. alumni Emett Alvarez is hopeful the public will support these two new options.

“If voters were inclined to support that (teacher pay and infrastructure improvement) there would not be a tax increase. We would just move some pennies from one side to the other side” said Alvarez.

Here are the two options discussed and presented to the board Tuesday night:

Voter Approved Tax Rate Increase (VATRE) which would raise staff pay in the Victoria I.S.D. to a more competitive rate (potentially Prop A) and a bond that would cover high priority repair items (potentially Prop B).

The goal with the VATRE is to retain and attract the best teachers to Victoria. The bond would provide critical infrastructure updates across the district including roof repairs, HVAC systems (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning), increasing electrical capacities, and plumping lines.

The two proposals would still have to be approved by the Victoria I.S.D. board, so expect further discussions at future meetings. If approved by the board, voters will see the two proposals on this year’s ballot on November 2, 2021.