Update: Several Crossroads counties under burn bans

Update 9-11-18:

As a result of all the rainfall from the past few weeks, several counties in the crossroads have officially lifted their burn bans. Victoria and DeWitt County lifted their burn bans during their Commissioner’s Court meetings on Monday. Other counties to lift their burn ban include Refugio, Jackson, Matagorda, Gonzales and Wharton County.

Original Story 9-4-18:

Wharton and Bay City counties lifted their burn ban ordinances Wednesday morning.

Jackson, Victoria, DeWitt, and Calhoun counties are under a burn ban. Jackson County Commissioners enacted a burn ban last Tuesday.

Matagorda County lifted their burn ban Tuesday morning due to recent rainfall.

Refugio County is not under a burn ban.

Victoria County Fire Marshal Richard Castillo says our area remains under a severe drought.