Sheriff T. Michael O’Connor officially sworn in as US Marshal

VICTORIA, Texas- On Monday morning, February 3, 2020, four term Victoria County Sheriff T. Michael O’Connor informed County Judge Ben Zeller that he was ending his tour as Sheriff at high noon.

Later, at a private ceremony in the federal building, O’Connor was sworn in as the United States Marshal for the Southern District of Texas.

There are 94 U.S. Marshals appointed by the President of the United States to serve across our nation.

The United States Marshal is the oldest form of U.S. federal law enforcement and was established by the Judiciary Act of the First Congress and signed into law by President George Washington on September 24, 1789.