Rep. Morrison appointed Chair of House Local and Consent Committee

Representative Geanie W. Morrison (R-Victoria) was appointed by Speaker Dennis Bonnen to serve as Chair of one of the most influential committees in the Texas House for the 86th Legislative Session; the House Local and Consent Calendar Committee. Additionally, she was named as a member of the House Environmental Regulation Committee and the House Committee on Culture, Recreation, and Tourism.

“I am very grateful to Speaker Bonnen for the honor to serve as Chair of the Local and Consent Calendar Committee,” stated Morrison. “I look forward to being able to build on the successes of prior Sessions as we face the challenges that are unique to the 86th Legislative Session. The appointment as Chair and being named to the Environmental Regulation and Culture, Recreation and Tourism Committees is something that District 30 can be proud of. Environmental Regulation and Culture, Recreation, and Tourism have jurisdiction over topics that directly affect my District. I am looking forward to the challenges ahead.”

The House Local and Consent Calendars Committee is a eleven Member Committee that controls the calendar of appropriate bills and resolutions that are local or will be uncontested, and have been recommended as such by the standing committee of original jurisdiction. The Local & Consent Calendar is where over half of all bills are considered during the legislative session and is an integral part of the legislative process. During the 85th Legislative Session, over 854 bills were sent to the Committee for consideration.

The House Committee on Environmental Regulation has jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to: air, land, and water pollution, including the environmental regulation of industrial development; the regulation of waste disposal; environmental matters that are regulated by the Department of State Health Services or the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality; oversight of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission.

The House Committee on Culture, Recreation, and Tourism has jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the creation, operation, and control of state parks; the regulation and control of the propagation and preservation of wildlife and fish in the state; the development and regulation of the fish and oyster industries of the state; hunting and fishing in the state, and the regulation and control thereof, including the imposition of fees, fines, and penalties relating to that regulation; cultural resources and their promotion, development, and regulation; historical resources; promotion and development of Texas’ image and heritage; preservation and protection of Texas’ shrines, monuments, and memorials; international and interstate tourist promotion and development; the Texas Economic Development and Tourism Office; the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact; and the following state agencies: the Parks and Wildlife Department, the Texas Commission on the Arts, the State Cemetery Committee, the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, the Texas Historical Commission, the State Preservation Board, the San Jacinto Historical Advisory Board, and an office of state government to the extent the office promotes the Texas music industry.

State Representative Geanie W. Morrison is currently serving her eleventh term in the Texas House of Representatives. House District 30 includes Aransas, Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Refugio, and Victoria Counties.