Refugio State Football Champs Get Major Honors

Herring, Ochoa, Wills Get State Honors

The latest major state honors for Refugio football’s state champions.

Head coach Jason Herring, named state 2A Co-Coach Of The Year by the Texas Sports Writers Association. Herring led the Bobcats to their first ever 16-0 record and the 2A Division I state title.
Refugio quarterback Austin Ochoa won the state 2A Offensive Player Of The Year honor and Refugio linebacker Zavien Wills was the 2A Defensive Player Of The Year. Ochoa passed for 3,004 yards and 30 touchdowns while scoring 13 TD’s on the ground. Wills had 215 tackles, 39 of them for losses. He beat out teammate Ysidro Mascorro by one vote for the player of the year honor.

Here are the area players picked for the Texas Sports Writers Association 2A All-State football team.

First Team


Guards – Dareon Wills, Refugio, 5-10, 260, sr.

Wide receivers – Antwaan Gross, Refugio, 5-10, 175, soph.

Quarterback – Austin Ochoa, Refugio, 6-2, 215, sr.

All-purpose back – Jordan Kelley, Refugio, 6-2, 180, soph.

Place-kicker – (tie) Tyler Yancey, Lindsay, 5-9, 145, jr.; Connor Winkenwerder, Shiner, 5-8, 145, jr.

Offensive player of the year – Ochoa, Refugio


Linemen – Landon Parson, Refugio, jr.

Linebackers –  Ysidro Mascorro, Refugio, 5-9, 205, sr.; Zavien Wills, Refugio, 5-10, 180, jr.

Defensive player of the year – Wills, Refugio

Coach of the year – (tie) Jason Herring, Refugio; Kevin Hoffman, Mart



Guards – Gage Brooks, Shiner, 5-9, 210, sr.

Center – Brock Sestak, Shiner, 5-10, 215, jr.

Running backs – Donyai Taylor, Shiner, 6-1, 195, sr.


Linemen – Doug Brooks, Shiner, 6-0, 240, soph.

Honorable Mention


Linebackers- Corey Pargmann, Yorktown, 6-3, 220, sr.