July 14th Election Day preview

Polls are open from 7 a.m.- 7 p.m. you must bring a valid form of ID

VICTORIA, Texas – Early voting for the 2020 primary runoff election is finished. A total of 6,888 Victoria County voters took part in this election. Victoria County has just over 55,000 registered voters. The elections were originally scheduled for May, but were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Victoria county will vote in a new sheriff either Dale Fowler or Justin Marr and decide on who will run against Jane Bernal in November for tax assessor collector between Ashley Hernandez and David Hagan.

In Goliad County on the Republican ballot, Kirby Brumby and John Creech are battling for the precinct three commissioners’ seat. Roy Boyd is uncontested his race for Goliad County Sheriff and will most likely replace Brumby on January 1st, 2021.

The biggest statewide election will determine which Democrat will face Republican Senator John Cornyn, either MJ Hegar or Royce West.

Democrats will also decide who will run against Republican Jim Wright, either Chrysta Castaneda or Robert (Beto) Alonzo.

Party chair of the Democratic party kept it simple when asked for her thoughts on this up coming election ” Go vote,” and Republican party chair Bill Pozzi said he is impressed with the turn out so far and hopes it continues on to Tuesday.

Polls are open from 7 a.m.- 7 p.m. you must bring a valid form of ID to vote in person. Continue watching Newscenter 25 during the week at 5, 6 and 10 for the latest.