Here’s a preview of the Victoria County candidates on the ballot

VICTORIA, Texas—- On November 3rd voters will decide a number of races in the Crossroads. Here are the local races and the candidates running.

The United States Representative for District 27 has three candidates on the ballot, incumbent Republican Michael Cloud, Democrat Ricardo “Rick” De La Fuente, and Libertarian Phil Gray. Congressman Cloud has served in this position since 2018.

The seat for County Commissioner Precinct 1 is between Republican Kenneth Wells and incumbent Democrat Danny Garcia. Garcia has served as Commissioner for Precinct 1 since 2013.

The Victoria County Tax Assessor-Collector race will have Republican Ashley Hernandez and Democrat Jane Bernal on the ballot. The person who wins will take the seat vacated by Rena Scherer for the first time in over three decades.

The Victoria Independent School District has two candidates for Trustee, Single Member District 3 including incumbent Bret Baldwin who is facing Rick Streeter. This election was scheduled for May but delayed due to COVID-19.

The seat for State Senate District 18 is between incumbent Republican Lois Kolkhorst and Democrat Michael Antalan. Kolkhorst has served as the Senator for District 18 since 2014.

The Victoria County Water Control and Improvement District 2 has four candidates in the race. Robert Zapata, Jesse Garcia, Derrick Montes, and John W. McGrand are in the race to take this seat.

The Victoria Constable Precinct 1 will have Republican Vincente Flores Jr. and Democrat Jeff Meyer.