Governor Abbott statement on resignation of ERCOT leadership

Five board members of ERCOT resign

AUSTIN, Texas- Five members of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), including the board chairman and board vice chairman, are resigning effective Wednesday, February 24.

Governor Abbott issued a statement on the resignation of the Electric Reliability Council Of Texas (ERCOT) board members, including the chairman and vice-chairman:

“When Texans were in desperate need of electricity, ERCOT failed to do its job and Texans were left shivering in their homes without power. ERCOT leadership made assurances that Texas’ power infrastructure was prepared for the winter storm, but those assurances proved to be devastatingly false. The lack of preparedness and transparency at ERCOT is unacceptable, and I welcome these resignations. The State of Texas will continue to investigate ERCOT and uncover the full picture of what went wrong, and we will ensure that the disastrous events of last week are never repeated.”

This morning five ERCOT Board members, including the Chair, announced plans to resign from their positions. Additionally, an Unaffiliated Director candidate withdrew his name from consideration.

The five current Board members will resign following tomorrow’s ERCOT Board of Directors meeting, which will be live-streamed. Instructions will be posted here.

Here is ERCOT’s statement: “We look forward to working with the Texas Legislature, and we thank the outgoing Board Members for their service.”

The resignation letters were filed with the Public Utility Commission of Texas.