East Baseball Playoff Preview, H.S. Playoff Scores & East Girls Golf Awards

East baseball, facing its’ biggest game of the season by far Friday night.
The Titans are on to the third round of the playoffs for the first time in two years. East swept Medina Valley last weekend two straight to make it this far. Two Titans told me the biggest reasons for their team’s success. Said center fielder Kyle Carter, “We’ve pitched great and played great defense. We’ve done a great job of rising to the occasion. We came in off a losing streak and when the playoffs started we were ready to roll.” Said right fielder Bernard Murphy, “Everybody feels really good. It’s just a fun thing to do and to be the second team to get there is a really great feeling.”
East baseball’s 5A regional quarterfinal is a one-game series.
It is Friday night at 7:00 at Wolff stadium in San Antonio It comes against Kerrville Tivy, the number four ranked 5A team in the state.
A good and bad news Thursday night for Cuero sports teams.
The good news comes from Lady Gobblers softball, as they take game one of their 4A regional semifinal series over Sweeny, 3-2. Game two back in El Campo Friday night at 7:00. If game three is needed, that will come there Saturday afternoon at 2:00.
Cuero baseball gets shutout in game one of its 4A regional quarterfinals, 7-0, by Devine.
The Mean Green now has to sweep Devine to advance. Game two in Marion Friday afternoon at 5:00 and game three, if needed, 30 minutes after game two.
Hallettsville baseball, taking the opener of its 3A regional quarterfinal series, 1-0 over Tidehaven.
Game two at Riverside Stadium Saturday afternoon at 4:00, and game three, if needed, 30 minutes after game two.

Here are the East girls golf award winners announced at their banquet Thursday night: Most Potential-Amber Short and Loren Escalona; Grind It Out Award-Karsyn White and Zayda Cedillo; Clark Motley Academic Award-Shelby Austin; Most Improved-Shelby Austin and Adriana Jaramillo; Leadership-Karsyn White and Zayda Cedillo; MVP-Zayda Cedillo; Ben Johnson State Award-Zayda Cedillo and Karsyn White