• Home

UHV Sports Awards

Posted: Updated:

Here are the UHV athletics award winners announced at their banquet Thursday night. 

University of Houston-Victoria freshman Leah Lerma of Mission and senior Reece Hannigan of London, England,, were named the 2018 UHV Athletes of the Year on Thursday night during the annual UHV Jaguars athletic awards banquet held in the Multi-Purpose Room of the UHV North Building.

Lerma, stepped in immediately as the team’s No. 1 player throughout the season helping guide the Jaguars to four top-five finishes in seven tournaments, including a fifth-place finish at the Sooner Athletic Conference Championships.

The Jaguars recorded their best finishes at the Texas A&M-International Jack Brown and the Texas A&M-Commerce Lion Invitational where they finished tied for third.

Lerma has three top-10 finishes on the year and currently holds an 85.73 scoring average. Her best finish was a tie for sixth at the Tyler Junior College Fall Intercollegiate.

Hannigan has twice been named the Red River Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year, is a three-time selection to the all-RRAC first team and was named to the Association of Independent Institutions all-conference second team as a freshman.

He was selected to the NSCAA all-region first team this past season and was on the second team in 2016.

He has played a key role in the Jaguars’ back line all four year and this past season helped the team record a record nine shutouts en route to UHV’s first RRAC Conference championship and appearance in the NAIA National Tournament.

He also scored three goals and had two assists in 16 games this season. For his career, he finished with 18 goals and three assists in 65 games, playing mostly as a defender.

Both Lerma and Hannigan received the Player of the Year awards in their respective sports. Other Player of the Year awards junior Marissa Longoria in softball, senior Yahajaira Lara in women’s soccer, junior Joshua Fonseca in baseball, and senior Cristian Esparza in men’s golf.

Newcomer of the Year awards went to Angelica Davidson in softball, Nisa Ollivierre in women’s soccer, Palemon Plancarte in men’s soccer, Jonathan Jimenez in baseball, and Lerma in women’s golf.

Champion of Character awards for display of the five-core values of the NAIA Champions of Character program went to Alyssa Dial in softball, Amanda Bautista in women’s soccer, Viviana Yzquierdo in women’s golf, Brian Foulger in men’s soccer, Wesley Kutac in baseball and Adrian Saenz in men’s golf.


Current Conditions