• Home

H.S. Golf News On Faith Academy, St. Joe, East & West

Posted: Updated:

A Faith Academy golfer is in second place at the state tournament. Alex Hernandez, the defending TAPPS 2A state champ, with a first round 80 at Cottonwood Creek in Waco. Alex is four shots behind Caleb Carson of Fort Worth Christian.

TAPPS DISTRICT TOURNAMENT RESULTSpaled at Quail Valley GC in Missouri City.  Boys 1st place Team:  Houston Second Baptist 334 total5th Pl Team: Victoria St Joseph                             374totalGirls 1st place Team:  Houston             Lutheran South 384 total4th Place:  Victoria St Joseph                   460 total Players:  Briana Rodriguez, Bailey Cisneros, Tiffany Liu, Alexis Garza, and Emily ChandlerBy finishing in top 4, allows us to advance to Regionals next Tuesday played at Magnolia Creek Golf Course in League City.  Also:  Kenya Morris was 10th medalist with a 108 and advances to Regionals as an individual.

Here are the area players named to the 27-5A All-District golf team.


MVP-Zayda Cedillo, East

Newcomer Of The Year-Amber Short, East

Coach Of The Year-Mike Smith, East

1st Team All District         
Karsyn White    Victoria East    Junior
Megan Marek    Victoria West    Senior
Carly Oracion    Victoria West    Junior
Taylor Lofland    Victoria West    Senior
Ansliee Stehling    Victoria West    Junior        
2nd Team All District        
Abiigail Morgan    Calhoun    Junior
Shelby Austin    Victoria East    Sophomore
Emily Bauknight    Victoria West    Sophomore        
Honorable Mention         
Loren Escalona    Victoria East    Junior
Adriana Jaramillo    Victoria East    Sophomore
Sarah Udd    Victoria West    Junior
Hannah Jordan    Victoria West    Sophomore

Girls Golf Academic All-District

Shelby Austin    Victoria East
Adriana Jaramillo    Victoria East
Zayda Cedillo    Victoria East
Amber Short    Victoria East
Loren Escalona    Victoria East
Avery Vermillion    Victoria East
Corinn Wallner    Victoria East
Karsyn White    Victoria East
Michaela Stobb    Victoria East
Maile Sciba    Victoria West
Taylor Lofland    Victoria West
Megan Marek    Victoria West
Carly Oracion    Victoria West
Ansliee Stehling    Victoria West
Sara Udd    Victoria West
Emily Bauknight    Victoria West
Leila Sutherland    Victoria West
Emily Thigpen    Victoria West
Samantha Vigil    Victoria West

Abigail Morgan    Calhoun
Kelsey Vannoy    Calhoun
Heather Glover     Calhoun
Makayla Svetlik    Calhoun
Kellie Blevins    Calhoun
Zayda Hernandez    Calhoun


Newcomer Of The Year- Jordan Hanes and Logan Humphries, West

Coach Of The Year-John Schaller, West

1st Team All District         
Logan Lee    Victoria West    12th
Nick Cantwell    Victoria West    12th
James Debord    Victoria West    12th
Coewin Boerm    Calhoun    10th
2nd Team All District        
Seth Spicak    Calhoun    12th 
Mason Trevino    Victoria West     11th
Clayton Maraggia     Victoria East    10th
Karl Dickey     Victoria East    9th

Honorable Mention         
Delano Castillo     Victoria East     10th 
Jude Stehling     Victoria West    10th 
Kyle Smejkal     Victoria West     10th 
Jared Lofland     Victoria West     9th 
Will Swope    Calhoun    11th
Jordan Dworazcyk    Calhoun    11th    
Boys Golf Academic All District     
Grant McIntosh    Victoria East
Cody McIntosh    Victoria East
Clayton Maraggia     Victoria East
Colton Mundy    Victoria East
Tristan Hanson    Victoria East
Caleb Yogi    Victoria East
Marshall Artlitt     Calhoun
Mitchell Artlitt     Calhoun
Jordan Dworaczyk     Calhoun
Easton Power     Calhoun
Will Swope     Calhoun
Kyle Smejkal    Victoria West
Mason Trevino    Victoria West
Logan Humphries    Victoria West
Jordan Hanes    Victoria West
Mattox Trevino    Victoria West
Jude Stehling    Victoria West

Current Conditions
  • Local Sports

    • World Cup comes to Victoria

      Sunday was the final day of the world cup and Victorians wanted to get in on the action. Our David Gibson caught up with some fans who watched the game at a local viewing party. The world cup soccer fever came here to Victoria, Texas. 

    • UHV Athletics Scores Big In Academics

      University of Houston-Victoria student-athletes continue to achieve in the classroom with a little over 50 percent earning Red River Athletic Conference GPA Awards for the 2017-18 academic year. 

    • UHV Baseball Signs Three Players

      UHV head baseball coach Terry Puhl today announced the signing of three players for the 2019 season.  

    • Generals Lose Added Home Game

      An unexpected change for the Generals Thursday night, but they're not complaining. 

    • Major State Golf Tourney Heading To Victoria

      A huge state golf championship tourney, coming back to Victoria next month. 

    • Manning Gymnastics Wins National Medals

      An impressive streak continues for a local gymnastics coach. 

    • Generals' Big Schedule Changes

      Big changes for the Generals over the next three days. 

    • Former UHV Soccer Player Excited About England In World Cup

      England is in the World Cup soccer semifinals for the first time since 1990. 

    • UHV Soccer Releases Schedule

      After a season of being road warriors last year, the University of Houston-Victoria men's and women's soccer teams hope the home confines will play dividends when they open the 2018 collegiate soccer season in August.  

    • Generals Raised Over $14,000 For Warriors Weekend

      The Victoria Generals split the series with the Texarkana Twins, defeating them 9-0 on Saturday night. The Generals were on fire hitting the ball, as they recorded sixteen hits throughout the night.