• Home

DPS Driver License Service Returns to Victoria Post-Harvey

Posted: Updated:

VICTORIA – The Texas Department of Public Safety Victoria Driver License Office will reopen to the public at a new, temporary location (at 8 a.m.) Monday, Dec. 11. The temporary driver license office – located at 2208 Leary Lane, Victoria, TX  77901 – will be open weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The original facility, located at 8802 N. Navarro St., was closed after sustaining damage during Hurricane Harvey in August. Repairs are underway at that location and the facility will reopen sometime next year.

Many Texans are eligible to skip the trip to a driver license office altogether and instead take advantage of online services for driver license/ID card renewals, duplicates or address changes by visiting Texas.gov. Customers can also renew by phone at 1-866-357-3639. The eligibility requirements for phone renewal and online renewal are the same. The fee is the same for online, in-person and telephone renewals.

Important reminder: Customers may renew their Texas driver license/ID card up to one year prior to their expiration date, which allows them to choose a convenient time that fits their schedule.


We previously reported in August 2017 the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver License Offices in the following counties will be closed will be closed until further notice.


Port Lavaca  (Calhoun County)

Victoria  (Victoria County)

Cuero (DeWitt County)

Hallettsville (Lavaca County)

Check back for more updates. 

Current Conditions