UHV Softball All-Conference

By: Don Brubaker


Updated: 5/01/2014 12:32 pm

Text Size


University of Houston-Victoria’s Shelby Smith was named
the Association of Independent Institution Conference Co-Freshman of the Year
on Wednesday during the A.I.I. Conference Softball Championship banquet.


Smith was one of seven UHV players honored with
all-conference awards at the banquet. Smith, Savannah Crittenden, Marley
Moehrig, Ashley Winegeart and Rachel Laird were named to the All-Conference
first team, while Kristina Droz and Alex Holland were selected to the second


Smith, a freshman from LaPorte, shared the Freshman of
the Year honor with Fisher College’s Kristina Brown.


In 43 games this season, Smith has compiled a .486
batting average with a .723 slugging percentage and a .519 on-base percentage.
She has a team-high 17 doubles along with four home runs, three triples, 50 RBI
and 43 runs scored.


Crittenden, a freshman from LaPorte, has compiled an 11-2
record with a 2.00 ERA in 18 games in the circle for the Jaguars. In 80.2
innings she has allowed 32 runs on 63 hits and 35 walks, with 34 strikeouts.
She is also hitting .327 with 23 RBI, 17 runs, six doubles, two triples and a
home run.


Moehrig, a senior from Victoria, is hitting at a .426
clip and leads the team in triples (4), home runs (10), RBI (57), totals bases
(108) and slugging percentage (.794). She also has 12 doubles and has scored 38


Winegeart, a senior from Corpus Christi, is hitting .432
with 10 doubles, two triples, three home runs, 43 RBI, 40 runs and 21 stolen


Laird, a junior from La Marque, leads the team with a
.574 batting average, as well as in hits (81), runs (60), walks (23) and stolen
bases (42.) She currently has a 40-game hitting streak.


Droz, a senior from Missouri City, is hitting at a .325
clip with nine doubles, a triple, a home run, 24 RBI and 24 runs, while
Holland, a senior from Arp, is hitting .345 with seven doubles, four triples,,
two home runs, 27 RBI and 24 runs.


Georgia Gwinnett’s Cassidy Littlefield and LSU-Alexandria’s
Brooke Thomas were named the A.I.I. Co-Players of the Year, while California
State-San Marcos’ Katie Wilkinson was named the Pitcher of the Year.
Littlefield was also named the Newcomer of the Year.


2014 A.I.I.
All-Conference Softball Team


Coach of the
Charlie Zeilman, Louisiana State University-Alexandria

Co-Players of
the Year:
Cassidy Littlefield, Georgia Gwinnett College and Brooke
Thomas, LSU-Alexandria

Pitcher of
the Year:
Katie Wilkinson, California State University-San Marcos

of the Year:
Kristina Brown, Fisher College and Shelby Smith,
University of Houston-Victoria

Newcomer of
the Year:
Cassidy Littlefield, Georgia Gwinnett (unanimous)



  Pitchers: Kayla Byrom, Georgia
Gwinnett; Savannah Crittenden, University of Houston-Victoria; Logan Hebert,
Louisiana State University-Alexandria; Katie Wilkinson, California States-San

 Catchers: Kristina Brown, Fisher
College; Raquel Granados, LSUA; Tani Leasau, CSUSM.

 Infielders: Cassidy Littlefield, GGC;
Marley Moehrig, UHV; Kaylee Prather, LSUA; Shelby Smith, UHV; Kaylin Stewart,
Lindenwood University-Belleville; Ashley Winegeart, UHV.

  Outfielders: Halley Ingram, GGC; Rachel
Laird, UHV: Kaitlin McGinley, CSUSM; Alex Miller, CSUSM; Brooke Thomas, LSUA;
Julinn Torres, LSUA.

  Designated Player: Jamie Navarro,

  Utility Player: Taylor Winn,


  Pitchers: Ashley Beyke, GGC; Ashley
Dagenais, CSUSM; Michele Pilster, Lindenwood; Nicole Schmidt, Ashford

  Catchers: Kristina Droz, UHV; Shelby
Hobelman, Ashford.

  Infielders: Melyssa Bellamy, CSUSM;
Mallory Campbell, CSUSM; Kalyn Ohlemeyer, Ashford; Morgan Selmi, Fisher; Taylor
Simon, LSUA.

  Outfielders: Christine Briggs, Fisher;
Payton Geeting, Ashford; Nicolle Miskowicz, Lindenwood; Carlyn Shimizu,
University of British Columbia,

  Designated Player: Heather Bunn, LSUA;
Alex Holland, UHV.

  Utility Player: Alana Westerhof,



0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

The views expressed here do not necessarily represent those of Crossroads Today

No comments yet!
Inergize Digital   This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.

Crossroads Today is a community service of the Victoria Television Group. © 2015 Saga Broadcasting, LLC All Rights Reserved.


EEO Filing | FCC Inspection File | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use