MLB rules Ortiz pop up a hit in Darvish no-hit bid

Updated: 5/14 4:23 pm

Text Size
-
+
Share

New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Major League Baseball has changed the scoring in Texas starter Yu Darvish's no-hit bid from last Friday against Boston, ruling David Ortiz's seventh-inning pop up that fell in short right field a hit.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters when Ortiz hit a pop up that fell between second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios. Official scorer Steve Weller initially called it an error, citing Rule 10.12 that says a play that can be made with "ordinary effort" can be judged as an error even if no player touches the ball.

Rios was charged with the error and Darvish' no-hit bid continued into the ninth inning, when Ortiz laced a clean single with two outs to spoil it.

The Red Sox appealed the ruling and MLB overturned the call.

Inergize Digital   This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.

Crossroads Today is a community service of the Victoria Television Group. © 2014 Saga Broadcasting, LLC All Rights Reserved.

Non-Discriminatory Advertising Letter | ADVISORY PUBLIC NOTICE - NON-DISCRIMINATORY AD CONTRACTS

EEO Filing | FCC Inspection File | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use